Natural eye care tips and products

I switched to natural cosmetics 4 years ago and here is the review of some eye care products that I have tested so far. This post also includes some natural eyecare tips.

Dr Hauschka eyeshadow palette - Picture: Dr Hauschka

Eyeshadows: I have found it particularly difficult to find good long lasting organic eyeshadow. However, I love Dr Hauschka eyeshadow and more specifically Dr Hauschka eyeshadow palette. The palette costs approx. €38 but you can use it daily and it lasts for ages.

Note: If you live in Dublin and want to try Dr Hauschka Products; Nourish regularly invite makeup artists on saturdays. You can then book free makeup appointments and get personal advises – The offer usually includes 5-10% off Dr Hauschka Products. Please visit their  Nourish website for further details.

Mascaras:
I have tried three organic mascaras so far: Logona – Mascara Black 01; Dr Hauschka Black – Volume Mascara and Lavera Volume Mascara .
Review:
– Prices are relatively similar (€15-20 each – Lavera Volume Mascara is the cheapest of the 3)
Lavera Volume Mascara and Logona – Mascara Black 01 would give you the more natural-looking results.
Dr Hauschka Black – Volume Mascara can really give you more volume but it can also runs under your eyes… I would not recommend it if you wear contact lenses and/or need to put drops into your eyes regularly.

In brief, if you are looking for a natural look I would recommend Logona – Mascara Black 01 – my favourite mascara. If you are looking for the best quality/price, I would recommend Lavera Volume Mascara.

Eye makeup removers and Night eye care:
Eye make-up removal is an important stage in your skin’s beauty regime. I personnaly use Logona Eye Makeup Remover (approx. €12). The bottle is quite small but can last for long time. I usually put two drops of the oil on a wet reusable cotton round.

Reusable cotton rounds are better for the environment and actually work better than disposal rounds as they don’t shed fibers or pull appart. You can buy them in most organic shops but they are also easy to make – Tutorials available here. I bought a pack of 5 and made some extra rounds myself. I love them but no matter how much you wash them don’t expect them to stay as white as disposal rounds. That does not mean that they are dirtier!

I also use cornflower water on a daily basis. It has a pleasant floral fragrance and it can threat the dark rings bellow the eyes, while smoothing the skin around them. Unfortunately, it’s almost impossible to buy it in Ireland but it’s widely available online and it can also be made at home – see tutorial here.

Finally, I apply castor oil to my lashes on a daily basis – just before going to bed and leave it overnight. Castor oil will help your eyelashes to grow thick and long. I also use castor oil as a substitute for mascara on Sundays. It makes them glow and moisturizes them. Castor oil can be bought in any organic shop but is usually sold in 100 ml. bottles. You do not really need 100ml if you just want to apply it to your lashes. I personnaly bought mine with a friend and we shared the content of the bottle – Pour 50% of it into another dark color glass bottle.

I hope that you find these tips/reviews useful. And you, do you have any natural eyecare tips? any favourite natural eyecare product that you would recommend?

About elleadi

I am a 28 year old lady blogging on what I like the most: Fashion & Beauty, Food, DIY and gardenning – always keeping an eco-minded angle. I have started this blog to share my experience of living a greener life in Dublin, Ireland. I post on my green living tips and favourite green shops and restaurants. I believe that little things can make a big difference…
This entry was posted in Make-up & Beauty, Recycling & DIY and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Natural eye care tips and products

  1. silenda says:

    I found the Dr Hauschka eyeshadow very nice too, even if the color choices were not really for me…
    I recently switched to mineral cosmetics and there are some brands that manage to make very fine mineral powder for eyeshadow and make up. I tried alima pure, which has some really beautifull colors and eyeshadow stays all night, which is pretty awsome considering it’s just minerals.
    As for mascara, I found the conditioning mascara from Living Nature really greate. It doesn’t smudge, even when it’s raining, is really easy to remove with make up remover that I make and is all natural.
    Btw I’m trying the volume mascara from lavera and it looks good. Still need to test it in the rain thoughb:) but thanks for the tipp!

    Silenda

  2. Pingback: My “essential” essential oils | naturellementbio

  3. Pingback: Greening my bathroom | naturellementbio

Leave a Reply

