Reduce, Reuse: Handmade ring and bracelet

A month ago, I bought my first sewing machine – a nice Brother machine from the mid-90’s. I haven’t managed to get it to work properly yet but here is an easy tutorial for sewing dummies!

I love charity shops, flea markets and hate throwing things away – no wonders why my 1-bedroom appartment is such a mess ;). Today, I am going to show you how I have used my old ballerina shoes to make a bracelet and how to make a ring from an everything/surprise bag that I bought at a flea market.

Bow Bracelet:
Materials:
– Old pair of ballerina shoes that you can’t wear anymore – No matter, how much you like them!
– Black woven elastic
– Black thread
– Strong sewing needles (I broke one needle making that bracelet!)
– Flexible measuring tape

Instructions:
1) Cut the ballerina bows/straps and clean them up.

2) Measure your wrist so that you can be sure your bracelet will fit right. Please click here for further information on “How to measure your wrist for bracelet size”.

4) Measure your bow and sew both sides of it to make sure that it does not fray.

5) Cut two elastic bands to match those lenghts.

 

6) Sew the elastic bands on one side of the bracelet.

7) Sew the elastic bands on the other side of the bracelet.

Tips: To make sure that you get the lenght right, I suggest that you only oversew the straps first and try the bracelet on.

Et voila….. While this bracelet can’t be made if you do not have the bow; my point is that it can be easy to reuse things you already have!

 

I am also thinking of turning the second bow into a hair clip with a bow but I am not really sure yet – any suggestions are more than welcome!

Flower ring (and more):
Last time I visited my local flea market I bought an everything/surprise bag i.e. a bag full of old buttons & broken jewellery for €3. I love these bags full of surprises and I like giving things a second “life”.

In that bag, there was a small wooden flower and a lovely piece of jade. What were they before? Broches, buttons? I have no idea but I loved them and decided to turn them into rings.

I went to Crown Jewels (in Castle Street, Dublin)  and bought 2 adjustable ring bases (approx. €1.2 each).

While, I was pretty sure that I could use hot glue to fix the flower I asked for some advice with regards to the piece of jade. As it has 4 holes, I was advised to use some metallic thread (approx. €3) and a pair of jewellery pliers (approx. €12).

These rings have been made in less than 1 hour and are extremely cheap – It’s also very nice to think that you have given something a second “life”!

Have you ever turn old items into new jewellery? or clothes?

About elleadi

I am a 28 year old lady blogging on what I like the most: Fashion & Beauty, Food, DIY and gardenning – always keeping an eco-minded angle. I have started this blog to share my experience of living a greener life in Dublin, Ireland. I post on my green living tips and favourite green shops and restaurants. I believe that little things can make a big difference…
This entry was posted in Fashion, Recycling & DIY and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Reduce, Reuse: Handmade ring and bracelet

  1. What cool ideas! I’m only just discovering a love for repurposing, but it’s quickly becoming a passion. I look at everything (and I mean everything) differently now. One draw back is that thrift stores and garage sales are now dangerous territory, lol.

    My friend Lindsay made homemade gifts for all her friends and family, and one of my favorites that she gave me were these bobby pins with neat buttons glued on. I wear them all the time.

    ~Daniél

    • elleadi says:

      Thanks Daniel. I have just gone through your blog and really love it. And yes, garage sales are a very dangerous territory – Say the girl that is ready for tomorrow’s flea market ;).

  2. Pingback: My first sewing machine experience: Recycled shopping bag | naturellementbio

Leave a Reply

