Spring is back… My balcony is blooming

Spring has finally arrived and my balcony is blooming…

My daffodils and primroses are beautiful.  My rosemary and rosemary cutting* should be blooming within the next two weeks. Unfortunately, green pests have already killed most of my crocuses :(.

 

 

I really struggled with them last year but do not want to use chemical pest control. I have tried to mix up the plants on the balcony (mainly using french marigolds and nasturtium) and to spray some water + soap on them –  See “Town & Country gardening” article with that regards. However, if you know any other good natural pest control please share it!!!!!

I sowed my basil indoors two weeks ago but I can’t see anything yet. However, my chives, pepper mint, persil and thym already look beautiful.

 

My radishes and salad leaves are also growing….

 

 

Next steps:

Sowing tomatoes (indoor), red onion and sunflower…

Spring is definitely my favourite season….

* I made my rosemay cutting in October and that’s extremely easy:
1) Take a cutting that has some harder wood on it /
2) Remove the leaves from the bottom of the cutting (approx. 2 cm)
3) Place the cutting in your garden.
Most online articles recommend to place it in a small pot filled with compost first and to transplant it later on. Obviously it depends where you live and when you do it but from my experience in Ireland and southern France if you make the cutting at the right time of the year (late Spring or September/October) and  place it directly in a normal pot/ garden it works perfectly fine.

About elleadi

I am a 28 year old lady blogging on what I like the most: Fashion & Beauty, Food, DIY and gardenning – always keeping an eco-minded angle. I have started this blog to share my experience of living a greener life in Dublin, Ireland. I post on my green living tips and favourite green shops and restaurants. I believe that little things can make a big difference…
This entry was posted in Gardening and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Spring is back… My balcony is blooming

  1. Lilybell says:

    I believe I may try some rosemary cuttings today! I have two VERY large rosemary bushes that have branches that look like small cedars. I may remove them slowly by making cuttings and sprouting off plants so that I don’t feel so bad about taking it out.

    • elleadi says:

      Let me know how it goes Lilybell. That’s exactly how I ended up making the cuttings – my rosemary was getting too big and didn’t want to cut it too much.Now it has some son(s)/daughter(s) across the balcony;).

  2. Good luck on your balcony!

Leave a Reply

