Vegaviana, Madrid, Spain

Last weekend, I went back to Madrid – a city where I lived for almost a year in 2005.

It was great to see that Madrid hadn’t changed that much and to enjoy nice/long lunches in the sun con tapas y vino ;).

Back in 2005, money was a bit tight and I could not try many vegetarian restaurants over there. Last week end, I thus decided to try Vegaviana, a vegetarian restaurant located in the gay district of Chueca.

I was there on Saturday night and we had a fantastic dinner for €34.40 (for 2 people).

What we ate?
Main dishes
– Spinach & goat cheese cannelloni
– Vegetarian paella
Desserts
– 3 Ice cream balls
– Vanilla soja cream
Drinks
– 2 Glasses of house wine
– 2 cups of organic coffee

What I liked?
– The food served at the Vegaviana Restaurant is simple and good. Contrary to many vegetarian restaurants they do not try too hard… It’s just nice, simple food. I was there with a non-vegetarian friend and he really appreciated the fact that it wasn’t a “traditional vegetarian restaurant” – They even have a small selection of chicken dishes (free-range).

– Good value i.e. €34.40 for two people on a Saturday night

– Their vegetarian paella. I have been vegetarian for 11 years and that’s the 1st time in 11 years that I have eaten a good paella! Should really have thanked the chef for that 😉

– The location: Vegaviana is located in the gay district of Chueca – one of my favorite part of Madrid, full of nice bars and shops – For organic/ fair trade shops in Chueca please click here.

– Very good service

What I did not like?
The dessert menu was quite small.

Other than wishing the dessert menu was bigger, the evening was great. I really liked the place and would definitely recommend it.

About elleadi

I am a 28 year old lady blogging on what I like the most: Fashion & Beauty, Food, DIY and gardenning – always keeping an eco-minded angle. I have started this blog to share my experience of living a greener life in Dublin, Ireland. I post on my green living tips and favourite green shops and restaurants. I believe that little things can make a big difference…
This entry was posted in Vegetarian Restaurants and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

