Plastic free kitchen

Plastic is everywhere. It’s on your shoes, in your bathroom, in your kitchen but also in the oceans. Marine debris are known to be the cause of injuries and deaths of numerous marine animals, either because they become entangled in it or they mistake it for prey and eat it – see Greenpeace report here. But plastics are not only bad for the environment, they can also be extremely harmful to human health – see bisphenol A.

Here are some tips to reduce your plastic use in the kitchen and your plastic wastes.

Grocery Shopping:

  • Use reusable shopping bags: I always have a foldable shopping bag in my handbag. I like Envirosax but if you know of some reusable bags produced in your area / or if you are good enough to make one that’s event better.
  • Buy products with as little packaging as possible
  • Prefer fruits & vegetables loose (as opposed to prepacked)
  • Buy in bulk: prepackaged food in super sized containers means less packaging (it’s often cheaper too)
  • Prefer glass or paper containers
  • If you have to buy food packaged in plastic containers, check the “plastic number” to see if it can be recycled.

Cooking & Storing

  • Try to avoid plastic utentils and bowl. Don’t forget that if you heat up plastic utensils, food containers or plastic wraps some chemicals, such as phthalates, can be released into food or beverage. If you want to cover a dish prefer kitchen paper or lid to plastic wraps.
  • Cook: It’s healthier, often cheaper than pre-packaged food and there is no packaging to dispose of.
  • Take your own lunch to work: Again, it’s cheaper, healthier and there is far less packaging to dispose
  • Use reusable containers: I have replaced all my plastic food containers by jars and they are just perfect to keep leftovers, freeze herbs or bring your lunch to work. That’s also a nice way to reuse them.

Any tips to reduce plastic use and waste in the kitchen?

 

About elleadi

I am a 28 year old lady blogging on what I like the most: Fashion & Beauty, Food, DIY and gardenning – always keeping an eco-minded angle. I have started this blog to share my experience of living a greener life in Dublin, Ireland. I post on my green living tips and favourite green shops and restaurants. I believe that little things can make a big difference…
This entry was posted in Food Markets & Recipes, Recycling & DIY and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Plastic free kitchen

  1. I havent yet gotten around to replacing all of my plastic containers. I still use them to store food – though I re-use jars for dry foods (beans, rice, baking goods). I do reheat foods on a plate instead of in the plastic though – I had read about the chemicals leaching out during reheating. I also have some old fashioned glass dishes with glass lids that Ive collected at auctions, but they are small and dont hold much. The cost of replacing everything is a little prohibitive at the moment. Though I do store homemade baked goods in tins in the freezer instead of plastic. I’ll get there eventually.

  2. elleadi says:

    Yes, I still have some plastic food containers myself but I never, ever reheat them. You are totally right, we will get there evntually.

Leave a Reply

