Balcony gardening and DIY plant containers

One of the biggest challenge of the balcony gardener is to find suitable plant containers i.e. deep and not too heavy containers. Any vessel is suitable for container gardening if it has drainage. Here are some of my favourite cheap, eco-friendly and recycled plant containers.

Wooden plant containers

Wooden containers are perfect for plants and so easy to make!

Obvious options include barrels and wine boxes.

Forfurtherinformation on the wine boxes garden and instructions please click here.

Don’t have any wine boxes or barrels? Wooden plant containers are easy to make. Excellent instructions are available here.

Tin plant containers

Can plant containers on my balcony

Growing watercress in a can

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Tin plant containers are easy to make too. You can pick a nice tin, paint one or just use some colourful yarns (indoors plants).

If you use tin plant containers remember to drill holes for drainage – If you don’t have any drill, you can use a screwdriver to make the hole.

I also like using old tools and furnitures, such as bowls and buckets as plant containers. Flea markets and car boot sales are great places to buy them.

Have you ever made your own plant containers?


 

 

 

 

 

 

About elleadi

I am a 28 year old lady blogging on what I like the most: Fashion & Beauty, Food, DIY and gardenning – always keeping an eco-minded angle. I have started this blog to share my experience of living a greener life in Dublin, Ireland. I post on my green living tips and favourite green shops and restaurants. I believe that little things can make a big difference…
This entry was posted in Gardening, Recycling & DIY and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Balcony gardening and DIY plant containers

  1. Tammy says:

    Love the wood containers!

  2. Great post and blog, and thanks for mentioning my woolly can pots, I’m a visual artist and am endeavoring to be as eco-aware as possible with materials and in general come up with creative solutions to re-using and recycling, great to read what other people are up to as well! 🙂

  3. elleadi says:

    Thanks Orla, I really like your work. The “Pet” April 2012 painting is beautiful.

  4. Plant Stands says:

    Good suggestions…I like the variety of pots.

Leave a Reply

