My first sewing machine experience: Recycled shopping bag

Before I was…. ?

I have always liked collecting old stuff and giving them a “second-life”. I think that we buy and throw out  too many things and I always try to repair or reinvent objects.

My Sewing machine – Also on the picture: vintage wooden reels bought at the Dublin Flea Market

Following some initial clothing projects, I started to think more and more about buying a sewing machine. I did some online search and finally came across a Brother sewing machine from the 90’s that I bought for €30. As I had no experience with sewing machines before I bought that one, I struggled a bit but I am finally there… (a big thanks to my Mum ;)).

For my first project, I decided to create a grocery bag reusing some materials that I already had i.e. a busted umbrella; an old t-shirt and some nice paper shopping bag handles.

I like collecting nice paper shopping bag handles and ribbons – They are just so easy to reuse!

Steps

1) Remove the umbrella fabric from the frame. Iron it on a low setting.

2) I mainly used “Wisdom of the Moon”  pattern to make this bag. However, I also lined it using an old t-shirt and used nice paper shopping bag handles to make the handles.

Et voila…

Busted umbrella fabric are perfect to make shopping bags as you can also reuse the umbrella pouch to rull up your bag and stuff it in it.

I now have a new free, recycled and waterproof bag 😉

Note: I am working on a second recycled shopping bag and hope to have it finish by the end of the month. I can’t wait to show it to you.

About elleadi

I am a 28 year old lady blogging on what I like the most: Fashion & Beauty, Food, DIY and gardenning – always keeping an eco-minded angle. I have started this blog to share my experience of living a greener life in Dublin, Ireland. I post on my green living tips and favourite green shops and restaurants. I believe that little things can make a big difference…
This entry was posted in Fashion, Recycling & DIY and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to My first sewing machine experience: Recycled shopping bag

Leave a Reply

