Seasonal (nordic) salad

I have always tried to eat local & seasonal food but since I moved to Ireland I use lots of imported ingredients to make salads (tomatoes, melons, etc.). Last Saturday, I finally made my first “Irish salad” – All the ingredients, except the Spanish cherry tomatoes, the raisins and the pumkin seeds are locally sourced – to be honest I could probably have done without them but I wanted to add some colours .

Here is my recipe for an Irish summery salad:

Ingredients

  • Lettuce (I)
  • Salad Leaves (*)
  • Baby Carrots (*)
  • 1 Apple (I)
  • Cherry tomatoes
  • Sunflower seeds (*)
  • Pumpkin seeds
  • Irish Cheddar (I)
  • Glebe Brethan – hard comte style cheese) (I)
  • Parsley (*)
  • Thym (*)
  • Chives (*)

(*) Ingredients from my balcony
(I) Other local ingredients.

For further information on where to buy local/organic vegetables in Dublin, please click here.

Steps
Bascally, wash, cut and mix all these ingredients ;).

I have then added a very simple and easy to make dressing:

Salt, pepper, 1/2 teaspoon of  mustard, 1 table spoon of rapeseed oil  and one table spoon of cider vinegar. Rapeseed oil and cider vinegar are both produce in Ireland – I really like Llewellyn’s premium Irish cider vinegar.

Serve with a slice of bread and enjoy your diner….

Have you ever tried to cook a diner using only local ingredients?

About elleadi

I am a 28 year old lady blogging on what I like the most: Fashion & Beauty, Food, DIY and gardenning – always keeping an eco-minded angle. I have started this blog to share my experience of living a greener life in Dublin, Ireland. I post on my green living tips and favourite green shops and restaurants. I believe that little things can make a big difference…
This entry was posted in Food Markets & Recipes, Gardening and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

