DIY: Ecological toothpaste

Over the last five years, I have gradually moved from conventional beauty products to organic and home-made cosmetics.

I will soon post on how to green a bathroom but today I would like to share my homemade toothpowder recipe. One very good news, it’s healthier, cheaper and more eco-friendly than toothpastes that you can buy in shops.

Ingredients

  • 20 g. of clay (white or green)
  • 20 g. of baking soda (to withen the teeth)
  • 2 drops of  tea tree oil (antibacterial)
  • 2 drops of peppermint or 4 drops of lemon essential oil (fragrance)

Steps

In a small jar/plastic jar, mix the clay and baking soda. Add the drops of essential oils and mix again.

Wet your toothbrush before using your toohpowder. Et voila!

I use it along my homemade mouthwash and find it very good.  It’s also extremely cheap – 20g. of clay (approx. €0,45 / 500g = €9); 20g of baking soda ( €0,16 / €500g = €4); a few drops of essential oils – and allows you to reduce your wastes.

Talking about reducing wastes, I also like Monte-bianco toothbrushes and their replaceable heads – I used to import them but they are now available in Dublin (Down to Earth).

Note: A very good documentary on fluoridation in our water is available here.

Do you know more toothpaste/powder recipes?

About elleadi

I am a 28 year old lady blogging on what I like the most: Fashion & Beauty, Food, DIY and gardenning – always keeping an eco-minded angle. I have started this blog to share my experience of living a greener life in Dublin, Ireland. I post on my green living tips and favourite green shops and restaurants. I believe that little things can make a big difference…
This entry was posted in Make-up & Beauty, Recycling & DIY and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to DIY: Ecological toothpaste

  1. The toothbrushes are such a cool idea – haven’t seen anything like them here.

    • elleadi says:

      Yes, I really like them – It’s such an easy way to reduce waste. You can find them in most organic shops in France and Germany (and now in Ireland).

  2. slowborg says:

    Love it! We have those awesome toothbrushes in some health food stores and organic stores I will get one when my current stash of Colgate ones run out 🙂

  3. Pingback: Greening my bathroom | naturellementbio

Leave a Reply

