My little paradise…

I am sorry for having been so quiet recently but I spent a few days at my parents’ place – in south central France. They live in a small village in “the middle of nowhere” – as my partner put it ;). A perfect place to relax and… enjoy a simpler life.

Helping with the Garden

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Enjoying long walks with your family & friends

 

 

 

 

 

 

Looking at the swallows outside your house

 

 

 

 

 

 

Cooking and learning new recipes

My mum shared with me her new recipe for cookies and I just like it!

Ingredients:
250g. of flour / 1 tea spoon of baking powder / 1 tea spoon of baking soda / a pinch of salt / 100g of oat flakes / 200g of chocolate chips  / 100g of brown sugar / 125g of butter / 1 table spoon of vanilla / 50g of pecan nuts and 50g of pistachio

Steps: Mix all the ingredients mentioned above; make some cookies and bake them for 12/13 min. at 180 degrees. Enjoy your dessert!

Doing some reading in the garden

I finished reading “No impact man” by Colin Beavan – also watched the documentary – and found it very interesting.

I also received Je fabrique mes produits menagers” (I make my own cleaning products, soap and shampoo) by Laetitia Royant as a present. This book is full of very useful tips to make your bathroom and house more eco-friendly – I can’t wait for trying some of her recipes.

 

 

 

Last but not least, I would like to mention an initiative that has been taken (informally) by some people in my own village and that could benefit others (and our planet!).

Several times a year, the local council use chemical weedkillers on both sides of the road to “keep it clean” – they sometimes spray it on your garden by mistake too! It’s now well documented that most chemical weedkillers are dangerous for the environment and human health – click here for further details. As some people people now use the “no junk mail” logo on their mailboxes, people in my village have started to display “No weedkillers in front of our house” signs in front of their houses.

I have always stated how much I believe that little things can make a big difference. Not only, does this type of actions help to protect the environment but they also contribute to raising awareness of the environmental impact of weedkillers. And you, what have you done to make your life greener?

 

 

 

About elleadi

I am a 28 year old lady blogging on what I like the most: Fashion & Beauty, Food, DIY and gardenning – always keeping an eco-minded angle. I have started this blog to share my experience of living a greener life in Dublin, Ireland. I post on my green living tips and favourite green shops and restaurants. I believe that little things can make a big difference…
This entry was posted in Food Markets & Recipes, Gardening and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to My little paradise…

  1. Sounds like you had a great holiday. And that garden is fabulous.

  2. I guess I didn’t answer your question – to be greener, we grow some of our food and buy locally, reducing the footprint of our food. We also have almost zero food waste, we use it all, freeze it, feed it to animals, save scraps for stock and broth or compost. We’ve also been using homemade beauty and cleaning products as much as possible.

    • elleadi says:

      Thanks Heidi; yes I had lovely holidays. A great tip that a friend of mine gave me recently (re reducing food waste) is to plan what you want to cook on a weekly basis and to buy only what you need to make these recipes. It really works.

  3. Tammy says:

    That is a beautiful garden – so peaceful.

Leave a Reply

